News RSS Feed | KOBI-TV NBC5 / KOTI-TV NBC2 http://kobi5.com Mon, 21 Apr 2014 02:35:06 -0700 Joomla! - Open Source Content Management en-gb Jake Roberts BMX Racer http://kobi5.com/news/item/jake-roberts-bmx-racer.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/jake-roberts-bmx-racer.html Jake Roberts BMX Racer

Grants Pass, Ore. -- At nine years old Jake Roberts of Grants Pass, already has the attention of BMX racers nation wide.  He just finished one of the best seasons of any racer, in *any* age group... and he's just getting started.

]]>
Thu, 13 Feb 2014 13:15:23 -0800
Salvation Army Red Kettle http://kobi5.com/news/item/salvation-army-red-kettle.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/salvation-army-red-kettle.html Salvation Army Red Kettle

  They have come to symbolize the start of the holiday season...when you see the shine of a red kettle and hear the jingling of bells, you know the Salvation Army has started it's Christmas season.
NBC Five's Joe Camarlinghi caught up with a first time bell ringer...raising money for those in need.  He has the story in tonight's Joe's Journal

]]>
Mon, 25 Nov 2013 14:17:03 -0800
Randall Theatre Nightmare Chamber http://kobi5.com/news/item/randall-theatre-nightmare-chamber.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/randall-theatre-nightmare-chamber.html Randall Theatre Nightmare Chamber

Halloween is quickly approaching and if your looking to bring a little "scare" into your life, we have the answer.  The Randall Theatre is opening up it's nightmare chamber for 5 more nights...starting with this evening.  We sent NBC Five's Joe Camarlinghi into the chamber...and he somehow made out alive to bring you tonight's journal.  Beware this could be scary for a younger audience.

]]>
Tue, 29 Oct 2013 15:10:40 -0700
Hanley Farm Scarecrow Fest http://kobi5.com/news/item/hanley-farms-scarecrow-fest.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/hanley-farms-scarecrow-fest.html Hanley Farm Scarecrow Fest

It's officially fall out at Hanley Farm and to celebrate they have two weekends, full of activities.  It starts this weekend with the scarecrow fest out at the farm. NBC Five's Joe Camarlinghi has the story in thiss journal.

]]>
Fri, 11 Oct 2013 13:23:59 -0700
Eyes to Burma Update http://kobi5.com/news/item/eyes-to-burma-update.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/eyes-to-burma-update.html Eyes to Burma Update

Fred Stockwell gave up all he owned, including a successful photography business in Ashland, to move to garbage dump in Thailand.  Fred went there to help the hundreds of refugees living in and surviving off the garbage.  We first introduced you to Stockwell about a year ago in a Joe's Journal and in tonight's edition we get an update on his "Eye's to Burma" project.

]]>
Thu, 03 Oct 2013 17:05:18 -0700
Providence Medford Surgery Music http://kobi5.com/news/item/providence-medical-surgery-music.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/providence-medical-surgery-music.html Providence Medford Surgery Music

You've heard the expression "music to my ears"...but rarely does that go in the same sentence as "major surgery".  Those two phrases do however merge at Providence Medford Medical Center.  The hospital uses music to help sooth patients and doctors.  NBC Five's Joe Camarlinghi has the story.

]]>
Tue, 17 Sep 2013 16:43:15 -0700
Nascar Family in Central Point http://kobi5.com/news/item/nascar-family-in-central-point.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/nascar-family-in-central-point.html Nascar Family in Central Point

 The sport of Nascar started out on small tracks across the south, but is now a billion dollar industry.  A family in central point has strong ties to the sport...including 91 year old Magdalene Clements, who's husband Louis was a racing pioneer.

]]>
Wed, 11 Sep 2013 17:34:41 -0700
Mystic Treats http://kobi5.com/news/item/mystic-treats.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/mystic-treats.html Mystic Treats

   If you can dream up a pizza,  they can probably make it at Mystic Treats in Ashland.  It's place where the child like imagination...meets fresh local ingredients.

]]>
Tue, 20 Aug 2013 17:05:59 -0700
Amazing Bike Jump http://kobi5.com/news/item/amazing-bike-jump.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/amazing-bike-jump.html Amazing Bike Jump

It's labeled the biggest lake jump ever. and the video has gone viral.  It's video of a group of southern Oregon friends, as they bike off a ramp and into Applegate lake.  One big air shot on this "Worthless films" production, has this video showing up all over the nation.

]]>
Mon, 19 Aug 2013 17:45:56 -0700
Color Run in Medford http://kobi5.com/news/item/color-run-in-medford.html http://kobi5.com/news/item/color-run-in-medford.html Fri, 16 Aug 2013 17:45:34 -0700