Breidenthal and Scroggin Named Unofficial Winners of Jackson Co. Commissioner Pos. 2

, Posted: Tue, May 15 2012 at 11:20 PM, Updated: Wed, May 16 2012 at 12:13 AM

Jackson County residents cast their votes and made their voices heard. They voted for Jackson County Commissioner Position 2.

According to the first release of election results, the winner for Democrats was Jeff Scroggin who raked in more than 60% of the votes. He's Chief of Staff for District 3 of the Oregon Senate. Prior, he served in the army. Scroggin was endorsed by Senator Alan Bates and Representative Peter Buckley among others.

"We're excited about these returns and we're hopeful for future ones. I think it's really intelligent not to get too excited too quickly so we're being patient and hope things keep going the way they're going," said Scroggin.

As for the Republicans, the win for Commissioner Position 2 candidate went to Doug Breidenthal. The Chair of the Jackson County Republican Party. Breidenthal ran in 2010, but lost.

He received endorsements from Senator Doug Whitsett, State Representative Sal Esquivel among others.

"Your heart skips a beat," said Breidenthal recalling his first look at the numbers. "Optimistic, these are early returns. We have a little ways to go still but the numbers look good," he said. 

A field of seven candidates on Tuesday night was whittled down to two - from each party. Breidenthal and Scroggin will go head-to-head in November during the general election...both of them vying for the Commissioner's coveted seat.

Leave a Comment:

Note: Comments with profanity are automatically filtered and hidden. Verbal attacks towards others via our comments section will not be tolerated.