Gov. Kate Brown declared state of emergency in 13 counties

635852829253666685-coast-6Portland, Ore. — (KGW) Oregon Governor Kate Brown declared a state of emergency Thursday night in 13 counties.

  • Multnomah
  • Washington
  • Clackamas
  • Columbia
  • Marion
  • Polk
  • Tillamook
  • Yamhill
  • Linn
  • Lincoln
  • Lane
  • Clatsop
  • Benton

A storm brought record rainfall, causing significant flooding and damage throughout Oregon and Southwest Washington this week. A tornado ripped through part of Battle Ground on Thursday. Landslides have closed parts of many major roadways, including Highway 30 and Interstate 5.

“Heavy rains and wind have required the evacuation of residences, and mudslides and high water have severely damaged or blocked major roadways in these areas of the state,” Governor Brown said. “The emergency declaration ensures state resources, emergency response personnel, and equipment can be activated to respond to communities in need if their local resources are exhausted.”

The state of emergency is in effect until further notice.

Read more:

© 2024 KOBI-TV NBC5. All rights reserved unless otherwise stated.

Skip to content