After the Oregon Liquor Control Commission reviewed statewide data, Commissioners determined that the rates of redemption are significantly less that the 80% threshold set by the legislature.
The OLCC said due to the low rates, the redemption value will increase in compliance with House Bill 3145.
According to the OLCC, Oregon retail stores pay beverage distributors a 5 cent (10 cents beginning April 1, 2017) deposit for each qualifying container they purchase. Consumers then pay the deposit to retailers when they make a purchase. The consumer can then return empty containers to a redemption center to redeem their deposit.
“It is the OLCC’s responsibility to implement the legislature’s changes and to provide excellent customer service to the public and our stakeholders to make sure they are complying with state laws,” said OLCC Executive Director Steve Marks. “Just as we are carrying out the recreational marijuana program, and expanding retail liquor sales, we are equally dedicated to making the bottle bill implementation a success through ongoing communication and flexibility.”
According to the OLCC, The following types of beverage containers under three liters are included in Oregon’s Bottle Bill:
- Water/Flavored Water
- Soda Water/Mineral Water
- Carbonated Soft Drinks
- Beer/Malt Beverages
© 2023 KOBI-TV NBC5. All rights reserved unless otherwise stated.