Two defendants found guilty in Malheur National Wildlife Refuge case

Portland, Ore.- Two defendants were found guilt Friday in the second trial related to the occupation of the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge.

A federal jury delivered its verdict against four defendants charged with conspiracy, possession of firearms on federal property and depredation of government property.

Both Jason Patrick and Darryl Thorn were found guilty of conspiracy to impede officers of the United States. Thorn was also found guilty of possession of firearms and dangerous weapons in a federal facility.

Patrick and Thorn, along with Duane Ehmer and Jake Ryan, were found not guilty on all other counts.

Co-defendants Ammon Bundy, Ryan Bundy, Shawna Cox, David Fry, Jeff Banta, Kenneth Medenbach and Neil Wampler were previously found not guilty on all counts by a jury on Oct. 27, 2016.

Co-defendants Jason Blomgren, Brian Cavalier, Blaine Cooper, Eric Flores, Wesley Kjar, Corey Lequiei, Joseph O’Shaughnessy, Ryan Payne, Jon Ritzheimer, Geoffrey Stanek, Travis Cox, Dylan Anserson, Sandra Anderson and Sean Anderson previously pleaded guilty.

Beginning on Jan. 2, 2016, Ammon Bundy, Ryan Bundy, and several dozen followers, seized the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge near Burns, Oregon in Harney County.  The Bundys and several other occupiers, were arrested on January 26, 2016 on U.S. Highway 395 near Burns en route to a community meeting in John Day. The occupation officially ended on February 11, 2016 when the last four occupiers turned themselves in to federal authorities.

Sentencing for latest defendants is scheduled for May 10, 2017.

© 2024 KOBI-TV NBC5. All rights reserved unless otherwise stated.

Skip to content