Salem, Ore. – We’ve all been victims of that one driver who insists on driving slow in the fast lane. But a bill that passed the Oregon State Senate might be a good start in discouraging left lane hogs.
The bill would institute a fine of up to $250 for people who are caught driving in “the far left lane unless passing.”
According to the bill, “A person commits the offense of failure to keep a vehicle in the far left lane if the person is operating a vehicle and the person drives the vehicle in the far left lane on a roadway that has two or more lanes for traffic proceeding in a single direction and that has a speed limit or posted speed greater than or equal to 55 miles per hour.”
The bill allows people to drive in the left lane under certain circumstances, such as when preparing to turn left or in response to emergency conditions.
The bill will now move to the Oregon House for a vote.
© 2023 KOBI-TV NBC5. All rights reserved unless otherwise stated.