Senate Bill 802 would allow 16-year-olds to preregister to vote when they go to the DMV. Under current Oregon law, an otherwise qualified person who is at least 17 years old can preregister to vote.
Sponsors of the bill say lowering the age will help more people take advantage of the Motor Voter law, which automatically registers people to vote when they get or renew their license. Nearly 20,000 16-year-olds who are licensed in Oregon every year.
Currently, 11 states and the District of Columbia allow 16-year-olds to preregister to vote.
© 2023 KOBI-TV NBC5. All rights reserved unless otherwise stated.